Chicken Stir-Fry with Noodles

Hey All,

Hope everyone had a great weekend. My apologies for being absent for two weeks. This past Monday I fell ill because I ate raw oysters for the first time. They are tasty but unfortunately my stomach did not take it and I crashed on my bed for at least two days. Hey, first time for everything right? Now I know not to ever have those again.

A friend of mine from Guangzhou hung out with me last weekend. I took him around the neighborhood, went to the city, shared stories and of course recipes. For dinner he cooked something that he makes back at his place. I was impressed with his culinary skills, even thought he is an investment banker. I asked him what’s his favorite recipe that is pretty simple to make. He said “Stir fry is usually quick and easy”.  He shared some key ingredients that he makes with his stir fry and told me the specific spices that he uses to season any protein; for fish, shrimp, chicken or beef. I was very excited to try out this dish. I have never tried to cook anything oriental, always thinking that it would be difficult to make. Why not take a stab at it and make my own stir-fry recipe.

 

Ingredients:

  • 1 chicken breast(the ones that are used are a value pack. Huge Breast!!) Huge Chicken Breast
  • 4 mushrooms
  • 1 red pepper
  • 1/2 head of broccoli
  • 1/2 tablespoon salt
  • 1/2 tablespoon pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon of cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon of garlic
  • 3 tablespoons of soy sauce
  • 1 egg
  • 2 packages of noodles(either get Ramen or the ones I used which are called “Shin Bowl Noodle Soup”) Shin Bowl Noodles
  • 3 cups of water(or use the measurement that is on the noodle packets that you use)
  • 2 tablespoons of canola oil

Steps

 

  1. Defrost the chicken breast, either overnight or with a microwave.
  2. Take one out and cut the entire breast. Add them in a container for now. IMG_1098
  3. Chop up the four mushrooms into two IMG_1095
  4. Chop up the red pepper in thin slices IMG_1096
  5. Chop up the broccoli head in tiny piecesIMG_1094
  6. After chopping all of the vegetables, add them in a container and sprinkle salt IMG_1099
  7. Add 2 tablespoons of canola oil on a pan and preheat it for the stir fry IMG_1102
  8. Add the salt, pepper, cumin, and garlic into the chicken and mix them to prepare it. IMG_1100
  9. Add the prepared chicken on the stir fry adjusting the heat to medium IMG_1104
  10. Cook chicken until no pink shows on both sides IMG_1105
  11. Add the vegetables with the chicken along with a 1/4 cup of water IMG_1106
  12. Mix both ingredients until chicken is cooked and the vegetables are tender. IMG_1107
  13. Turn pan off and let it simmer. This will later be added into the noodles
  14. Add 3 cups of water in a pot and bring it to a boil IMG_1103
  15. Add the noodles and crack the egg into the pot. The Shin bowl Noodle soup has a seasoning package. I added that as well into the mix. IMG_1109 IMG_1110
  16. Heat for about 4-5 minutes.
  17. Add the chicken and vegetables that you stir fried into the pot that has the noodles and egg along with 3 tablespoons of soy sauce IMG_1111
  18. Mix and heat for a good 2 minutes IMG_1114
  19. Voila! Ready to Serve!

 

Chicken-Stir Fry W/ Noodles! Chicken-Stir Fry W/ Noodles! Chicken-Stir Fry W/ Noodles!

 

 

I cannot believe how good this turned out. All the flavors were there, the chicken was on point, the colors looked beautiful and the smell was just intoxicating. I was really proud of myself that I was able to cook this. Shout out to my friend from Guangzhou for showing me how to properly cook a stir fry recipe. Although I have modified a few ingredients, it turned out splendid. This took me 20 minutes to prepare and create. The fun part about stir fry is that you can use about any protein that you like( fish, chicken, beef, lamb, ect) and any vegetables you crave as well(broccoli, peppers, jalapeno, mushrooms, ect..) I will now add stir fry to my repertoire of foods to make. I cannot wait to try out more combinations of stir fry recipes in the future. Thanks all and go try out this recipe. I want to see how it turns out for you!

 

Cheers!

2 thoughts on “Chicken Stir-Fry with Noodles

Comments

